我们需要重新认识简历

翻阅简历(CV或者resume –常用于美国)是人力资源经理工作的重要部分,这通常是一项繁琐的工作:有时需要浏览数千份简历才能找到合适的候选人。随着科技技术的发展,今天的软件能根据简历和招聘广告的匹配度推荐最佳人选,当然,类似于候选人是否适合所应聘公司文化等问题,还是只能在面试后由面试官进行判断。然而,通过软件进行简历初选已大大优化了招聘流程。理想情况下,如果所有简历具有相同类型的格式并包含等效信息,无疑能帮助此类人岗匹配软件计算出更优的匹配结果,但现实往往和理想有一定的差距。

 

每个国家都有自己的偏好

在美国和加拿大,最标准和广泛被接受的求职文件是resume。Resume包含技能,资格和教育的简短摘要,通常是针对不同职位量身定制的。由于美国的隐私法,出生日期,婚姻状况和邮政地址等信息往往被忽略[1]。

CV主要用于欧洲。CV是拉丁语Curriculum Vitae的缩写,意思是“你的生活故事”,因此,CV是对一个人的经历,资格和教育的深入概述[1]。但是,欧洲不同国家对CV细节的预期有时会有所不同。例如,德国雇主认为CV中列出个人详细信息,如家庭,国籍,孩子数量等信息是理所当然,但在英国,CV中任何个人信息的出现都是不恰当的[2]。

而东亚等国家,如中国,日本和韩国,则非常关注简历中关于教育相关的信息,因为他们普遍认为高教育等于高能力,技能则很少被列出。与美国和欧洲的简历格式相比,中国,日本和韩国简历更多的是使用表格形式。在个人信息方面,中国雇主也希望看到更多的个人信息,求职信通常不是必要的申请材料[3]。

 

欧盟试图建立统一的简历

为所有求职者创建标准申请程序,欧盟委员会实施了欧洲工作通行证(Europass),欧洲工作通行证包含了一套文件:欧洲通行简历,语言能力档案,欧洲流动性文件,证书补充和文凭补充文件。这项免费服务旨在促进欧盟所有成员国的优秀人才流动,因为所有雇主都可以信任并依赖这些文件。

然而,正如许多人所指出的那样,欧洲通行简历最大的问题在于它使得候选人千人一面。试想一下,那些热门大公司定期会收到数以千计的简历,人力资源部门几秒钟就要扫描完一份简历。要从众多简历中脱颖而出,就必须要有独特的地方。此外,使用过欧洲通行简历的人也指出其诸多不便,包括有关个人工作经验的信息空间有限(占据相当大量文档空间的大徽标与之形成鲜明对比)[4]。

 

今天我们还需要简历吗?

如今人们质疑传统简历的必要性。许多人指责它的效率低下和耗时。例如,在翻阅了数十个简历之后,人力资源经理可能仍然无法找到他们想要的人选,因为简历总是包含相同的信息。潜意识偏见是专家们指出的另一个问题。例如,一些雇主不自觉地更喜欢和他们来自同一所大学的候选人,因为人们无意识地喜欢与他们相同品质和背景的人。

随着新技术的发展,越来越多的大型组织不再要求求职者提供简历,校园招聘中尤其如此。自2016年以来,联合利华通过各种类似游戏的评估方式招聘了约150-200名来自校园招聘的职位。联合利华的一位经理说:“对于学生们,你为什么需要一份简历?我们更多是看重他们的潜力而不是过去的成绩“[5]。

在JANZZ我们认为简历在工作申请的第一阶段仍然至关重要。根据我们多年的经验,大多数求职网站和公司招聘网站要求候选人上传简历的情况仍然并将继续存在,这是因为申请人跟踪系统仍然需要某种形式的文件存在。然而,我们需要考虑在数字化时代背景下,简历及简历筛选演变中出现的问题。

 

数字化时代的简历

在过去,每个候选人都有公平的机会在个人层面上进行考查,而不仅仅只是事实和数据,这是因为阅读每份简历和求职信或推荐信的是HR本人。然而,在今天的数字化时代,计算机正在评估第一轮的简历。那些能多说一种语言的候选人真的比那些对工作充满热情的人更好吗?身体有残疾的人是否应该获得平等的就业机会(而不是较低的匹配分数)?计算机如何以在阅读申请和推荐信时保有“人心”,而不是仅仅以事实和数据来做判断依据?

根据我们的经验,超过50%的简历在处理各种细节信息时不准确,简历美化或将信息向有利于候选人进行歪曲的情况比以前更普遍。在JANZZ最近出席的会议上,各方就未来工作为主题进行了讨论,并提出了区块链技术来解决上述问题。类似方法已经在英国试点项目中进行测试,金融风险管理硕士毕业生利用一项服务,允许未来的雇主立即验证他们的学历[6]。然而,这尚未解决如何在类似系统中证明社会求职者的技能,工作经验和表现的问题。鉴于雇主有责任创建区块链来记录前雇员的信息,他们是否仍然关心前雇员信息的更新是值得怀疑的(特别是对于小企业这意味着高成本和大量时间花费)。

在JANZZ科技,我们反思上述问题,并尝试将他们整合到JANZZ产品中,提供更周到,更好的解决方案。我们提供一种独特的语义匹配概念–JANZZ.jobs,它可以匿名地将人们与工作相匹配,以避免潜意识偏见,仅仅比较如技能,经验,教育和专业等相关标准。 JANZZ.jobs可以在全球范围内访问,目前已经有9种语言版本,2019年将增加到40种语言。

请马上与我们联系sales@janzz.technology

 

 

 

[1] ZipJob Team. 2018. Resume vs. CV – the Difference and Exactly Which to Use. URL: https://www.zipjob.com/blog/difference-between-cv-and-resume/[2018.12.13]

[2] Karin Bodewits. Ruth Winden 和 Robert Bowles. 2017. How to tailor your CV for different countries. URL: https://www.chemistryworld.com/careers/how-to-tailor-your-cv-for-different-countries/2500446.article[2018.12.13]

[3] intResume. n.d. Common resume and CV mistakes by Japanese, Koreans, and Chinese. URL: https://intresume.com/find-fix-common-resume-cv-mistakes-japanese-koreans-chinese/[2018.12.13]

[4] Andrew Stetsenko. 2017. You don’t need the Europass CV to get a job at European tech company. URL: https://relocateme.eu/blog/you-dont-need-the-europass-cv-to-get-a-job-at-european-tech-company/ [2018.12.13]

[5] Oliver Staley. 2018. The resume of the future will tell employers who you are, and not just what you’ve done. URL: https://qz.com/work/1232692/the-resume-of-the-future/ [2018.12.13]

[6] Avi Mizrahi. 2018. University College London Fights CV Fraud via Bitcoin Verification. URL: https://news.bitcoin.com/university-college-london-fights-cv-fraud-via-bitcoin-verification/ [2018.12.13]

 

0 回复

发表评论

有兴趣加入讨论 ?
请随意发表言论 !

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

Skimming over CVs (resumes, in the US) is an important part of HR managers’ job, but it can be a tedious task: at times, there is a need to go through thousands of documents in order to find the right candidate. Thanks to recent technological developments, today software can save HR the effort by recommending only the best matches between the contents of CVs and job ads. Although interpersonal aspects—for example, whether a candidate fits in with the company culture—still have to be considered by human judgement during interviews, a pre-selection process via software can make a substantial difference in effort. However, the software-based matching process could become even better if all CVs were to be of the same format; that is, if they contained equivalent information. That reality does by no means correspond to this ideal case becomes clear when looking at different countries’ various hiring processes.

Each country has its own preference

In the United States and in Canada, the standard and most accepted document in job search is the resume. A resume contains a short summary of the applicant’s skills, qualifications and education, which is usually adjusted for the respective position. Due to US privacy laws, personal information such as date of birth, marital status or postal address is often omitted [1].

In Europe, the CV is the most frequently used document in recruitment.  Since CV is short for curriculum vitae (Latin: “course of life”) it is an in-depth overview of a person’s education, experience and qualifications [1]. However, the level of detail expected often differs among European countries. For example, whereas a German employer is expected to list personal facts such as family, nationality or number of kids, such specification of personal details is inappropriate in a UK CV [2].

East Asian countries such as China, Japan and South Korea focus a lot on CVs’ education details, as the dominant view in this region is that ‘higher education equals greater capabilities’. In comparison to the CV formats in the US and Europe, their corresponding ‘stock application forms’ look more like service application forms. With respect to the level of detail, Chinese employers expect a lot of personal information, but cover letters are usually not required [3].

The EU’s attempt to standardize CVs

The EU has put some effort into creating a standard application procedure for all job seekers. The European Commission has implemented Europass, a European skills passport that includes a CV, a language passport, a Europass mobility document as well as diploma and certificate supplements. By offering documents that are comprehensible for all employers in the EU this free service aims at facilitating the movement of talents across all member states.

However, as has been noted, the downside of the Europass template is that it makes candidates ‘faceless’. Imagine big companies regularly receiving thousands of CVs whose scanning only takes a couple of seconds. In order to stand out from the crowd and win a few more seconds of attention one would have to submit a unique CV template. In fact, users reported more disadvantages than benefits of using the Europass template, including the limited space for information about one’s work experience (to which the big logo taking up a considerable amount of space of the document stands in somewhat ironical contrast) [4].

Do we still need CVs today?

Nowadays people are questioning the necessity of traditional CVs. Many lament the inefficiency and time-consuming processes of writing and inspecting it. Even after going through dozens of CVs, HR managers might still be unable to find what they are looking for, as the submitted CVs invariably contain the same information. Sub-conscious bias is yet another problem to be tackled: some employers privilege candidates who attended the same university as themselves because they unconsciously prefer people who share their own qualities and background.

With the development of new technology, an increasing amount of big organizations stops asking for CVs. This is especially the case in campus hiring. Since 2016, Unilever has replaced approximately 150-200 campus-recruiting positions with a mix of game-like assessments. Correspondingly a manager at Unilever asks: “for the students, why do you need a resume? For us, it’s more about measuring potential than past” [5].

Despite such new ways of hiring, at JANZZ we think that CVs are still essential at the first stage of application. According to our years of experience, the situation that the majority of job websites and company recruitment websites ask candidates to upload a CV will remain, as the applicant tracking systems still require them in some form. Nevertheless, it makes sense to consider the raising issues tied to CVs in the digital age.

CVs in the digital age

In the past, when each CV received the personal attention of a reader who went through the motivation letter and letters of recommendation, all candidates were given an equal chance to be examined on a personal level—beyond mere numbers and facts. In today’s digital age, this first round of examination is executed by computers. But: is the candidate who speaks one more language really a better choice than someone who offers a lot of passion for the job instead? Shouldn’t the physically impaired person get an equal chance at being employed (instead of a lower match score)? In short, are computers able to read motivation and reference letters ‘with a human heart ’ so that every candidate is appreciated beyond facts and figures?

As far as our experience goes more than 50% of the CVs processed contain incorrect information. ‘CV padding’ or, the tendency to skew information to the candidate’s advantage, becomes more prevalent. In a conference JANZZ attended recently, different parties discussed the future of work and addressed the issue of block chain technology. Such methods are already being tested in a UK pilot project, where MSc graduates in Financial Risk Management make use of a service that allows their future employers to instantly verify their academic qualifications [6]. What remains unanswered, however, is the question of how senior job seekers’ skills, work experience and performance can be proven in such a system. Given that employers are responsible for creating a blockchain to record former employees’ information it is questionable whether they still care about updating such past information (especially in the case of small enterprises to which such activities mean high costs and expenditure of time).

At JANZZ.technology, we reflect on the above issues and try to integrate them into a product that offers a more considerate and, hence, better solution. We provide a unique semantic matching concept—JANZZ.jobs—that matches applicants and jobs anonymously. This method not only avoids sub-conscious bias, it also compares only the relevant criteria (skills, experience, education and specializations). JANZZ.jobs can be accessed globally, is already available in 9 languages and will be offered in 40 languages by 2019.

Write now to sales@janzz.technology

[1] ZipJob Team. 2018. Resume vs. CV – the Difference and Exactly Which to Use. URL: https://www.zipjob.com/blog/difference-between-cv-and-resume/[2018.12.13]

[2] Karin Bodewits. Ruth Winden and Robert Bowles. 2017. How to tailor your CV for different countries. URL: https://www.chemistryworld.com/careers/how-to-tailor-your-cv-for-different-countries/2500446.article[2018.12.13]

[3] intResume. n.d. Common resume and CV mistakes by Japanese, Koreans, and Chinese. URL: https://intresume.com/find-fix-common-resume-cv-mistakes-japanese-koreans-chinese/[2018.12.13]

[4] Andrew Stetsenko. 2017. You don’t need the Europass CV to get a job at European tech company. URL: https://relocateme.eu/blog/you-dont-need-the-europass-cv-to-get-a-job-at-european-tech-company/ [2018.12.13]

[5] Oliver Staley. 2018. The resume of the future will tell employers who you are, and not just what you’ve done. URL: https://qz.com/work/1232692/the-resume-of-the-future/ [2018.12.13]

[6] Avi Mizrahi. 2018. University College London Fights CV Fraud via Bitcoin Verification. URL: https://news.bitcoin.com/university-college-london-fights-cv-fraud-via-bitcoin-verification/ [2018.12.13]