为什么你的软技能比硬技能更重要

每个人都在谈论数字化:“我们现在需要为数字化做好准备”;“我们要进行数字化学习”。你总会从公司、媒体,甚至是公司食堂里坐在你旁边那个人那里听到这样的言论。就连各国政治家们也在采取了行动:美国采用“数字政府战略”,波兰为数字化设立了整个部。德国议会有一位首席协调员和一位国家数字事务部长,连每个部门都有自己的数字部门。

这让我们相信,从现在开始技术技能将是起到决定性作用的技能,每个人都应该迅速行动起来:编码,CRM和ERP课程比领导力或语言培训来得更重要。即便是小学生也该成为IT天才以确保以后的职业发展道路。“如果你拥有一长串的硬技能,无疑每个用人单位都会要你—从而打通你上升的通道。”

为什么就连Google也不再看重硬技能

当最受欢迎的雇主之一Google发现情况其实并不是上诉这样的时候,大家都蒙了。科技巨头Google研究了其最成功的员工和管理人员。想看看他们有什么特别之处,是不是有什么成为最佳员工的共同技能。结果不仅让公司感到惊讶,也让人力资源部的员工普遍感到惊讶。一些假设能确保事业成功的技能,如数学,编码等技术和科学技能最终排在了最后一位。然而社交领域的技能被认为是更重要的成功技能。因此,被测员工在沟通,指导和听力技巧方面表现出明显的能力。 此外,同样重要的包括换位思考及富有同情心。 最后,研究表明,候选人能够批判性地检查关系是至关重要的。 世界各地的教育机构都认为,劳动力市场上的人文教育被大大低估了。 [1]

 

我们应该给孩子发展社会技能的时间。

2030年我们需要什么技能?

上述调查结果也得到了德勤审计公司的一项研究证实。德勤特别考察了对到2030年的新兴工作具有决定性作用的能力。研究指出,虽然在自动化的鼎盛时期需要数学高超的人才,但从长远来看,创造力、社交和情绪智力将是更耐用的技能。一方面,服务产业将会快速增长,上诉技能在这个行业里尤其需要。另一方面,社交能力也为自动化提供直接保护,因为在创造力和社交智能方面,人们比机器和软件具有明显的优势。同样被需要的有交流和语言技巧,以及创造力和思想的流动。 [2]那个众所周知的说法“跳出固有思维模式”看来是正确的。例如,设想一个项目经理,他能出色地为他的项目分配预算,却无法真正理解客户面临的问题。

 

我们不公平地评价学位吗?

软件行业白手起家的美国亿万富翁Mark Cuban,在2017年简明扼要地说:“我会做出预测,十年后,哲学人文学位将比传统编程学位更有价值。“根据Cuban的说法,机器将能够为我们计算和编程,因此他预测 ”如何进行批判性思考并以全球视角进行评估将比我们今天看到的一些诸如编程师或注册会计师等令人兴奋的职业更有价值。” [3]

现在的问题是我们如何在教育方面处理这些发现。我们要如何教育年轻人才能让他们在2030年获得真正的成功和幸福?如果你认为现在搞技术的爸爸们主要致力于孩子技术技能的发展,那么你错了。例如,在盖茨家中,孩子们只能在厨房里用电脑,而且家里根本没有智能手机。对马克·扎克伯格而言,他的孩子们在阅读和户外活动上花费的时间更为重要。 [4] 同样,阿里巴巴集团创始人马云在一次演讲中说:“我告诉我的儿子:’你不需要在班上排在前三位,只要不太差,中间就好了。只有这样的人[中间的学生]有足够的空闲和时间来学习其他技能’。我认为,如果中国经济想要发展,它需要很多中小企业和个体经营的公司,而这需要很多有价值和驱动力的企业家“。 [5]

这些话可以描述史蒂夫乔布斯的生活。 作为父亲他的行为有很多相似之处。 伟大的科技企业家是否知道他们的社交技能在他们的成功之路中发挥并将继续发挥决定性作用? 至少乔布斯总是被认为缺乏这个领域的技能,但各种心理学分析表明,这个男人明确地知道他何时想要使用情商而何时不想。 毕竟,他的许多员工是因为他才不断的改变苹果公司并且当初他的很多员工也是和他一起离职– 因此,他似乎很能够暗地里激励和鼓舞他们。[6]

 

同样,对于工作匹配软技能也十分重要

即使我们发现自己处于技术敏感时期,我们也不应低估软技能,因为良好的软技能有助于你在每个工作领域的发挥。 我们可以肯定,2030年以后社交和情商将继续决定你是否成功就业。在JANZZ,我们知道软技能对于人与工作的良好匹配有多么重要,正是这些技能决定了申请人是否 能真正丰富团队和公司。 我们的特殊匹配算法不仅考虑了职称和培训,还考虑了许多小细节。 类似于软技能等的细节最终决定招聘的质量。 这样做,我们可以保证一种完美匹配的方法,且该方法来自关于员工招聘的最新发现。 我们很乐意为您提供有关最佳匹配算法的更多信息,并为您提供良好匹配的建议。

请给我们来件 sales@janzz.technology

 

 

[1] Strauss, Valerie. 2017. The surprising thing Google learned about its employees — and what it means for today’s students. URL: https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/answer-sheet/wp/2017/12/20/the-surprising-thing-google-learned-about-its-employees-and-what-it-means-for-todays-students/?noredirect=on&utm_term=.d4cfd1f9cd76 [2018.09.15].

[2] Deloitte AG (Hrsg.). 2017. Welche Schlüsselkompetenzen braucht es im digitalen Zeitalter? Auswirkungen der Automatisierung auf die Mitarbeiter, die Unternehmen und das Bildungssystem. URL: https://digital.swiss/assets/dateien/ch-de-innovation-automation-competencies.pdf [2018.09.15].

[3] Watson, Christine. 2018. RecTech is creating more – not less – need for the human touch. URL:  https://www.daxtra.com/2018/08/03/rectech-creating-more-need-for-human-touch/ [2018.09.15].

[4] Johnson, Alice. 四月, 7, 2018. Viewpoint: Tech billionaire parenting. 来自于: The Times. New York City.

[5] Custer, C. 2015. 马云: ‘What I told my son about education’. URL: https://www.techinasia.com/jack-ma-what-told-son-education [2018.09.15].

[6] Bariso, Justin. 2018. Was Steve Jobs Emotionally Intelligent? The Answer May Surprise You.  来自于: Inc. URL: https://www.inc.com/justin-bariso/was-steve-jobs-emotionally-intelligent-answer-may-surprise-you.html [2018.09.15].

Why your soft skills beat your hard skills

Everyone is talking about digitalization: „We need to get ready for digitalization now“; „Train yourselves for digitalization.“ That’s what companies, the media  and the people sitting next to you in the company canteen say. Even politicians are taking actions: the US employs a „Digital Government Strategy,“ the Polish government established an entire ministry for the purpose. The German parliament has a chief coordinator and a state minister for digital affairs, and each ministry has its own digital department. Phew.

Since this has us believe that from now on the technological skills are decisive, everyone quickly takes action: courses in coding, CRM and ERP are prioritized over leadership or language training. Even the very little ones should become IT geniuses at primary school level to ensure a good career for themselves. „Have a long list of hard skills and everyone will hire you – this will let you skip a few steps on the career ladder.”

 

Why even Google no longer only searches for the right hard skills

The situation becomes all the more confusing as one of the most popular employers found out something completely different. Tech giant Google researched its most successful employees and managers to see what skills they had in common and, thus, what consistently distinguishes their best employees. The result not only amazed the company, but also HR employees in general. Technological and scientific skills, such as mathematics, coding and the like ended up in last position. Contrary to the assumption that these skills would ensure a successful career, it turned out that the most important skills for success were primarily in the area of social skills. Thus, the test group showed distinct abilities in communication, coaching, and  listening skills. Furthermore important were the ability to put oneself in other people’s shoes, in short, to show empathy. Lastly, the research showed that it was essential for a candidate to be able to critically examine connections. Educational institutions all over the world felt confirmed in their belief that an education in the humanities is greatly underestimated in the labor market. [1]

 

We should provide our kids with time to develop social skills.

What skills do we need by 2030?

The findings above  are  also confirmed by a study conducted by the auditing company Deloitte. It examined in particular which competences will be decisive for newly created jobs until 2030. It says that while people who are highly skilled in mathematics will be in demand during the heyday of automation, creativity, social and emotional intelligence will be more future-proof skills in the long run. On the one hand, we have a rapidly growing service sector in which these skills are particularly in demand. On the other hand, social competences also provide direct protection against automation, as people have a clear advantage over machines and software when it comes to creativity and social intelligence. There is a strong need for communication and language skills as well as creativity and , hence, originality and the flow of ideas [2]. Thus, the notoriously famous „thinking outside the box“ indeed holds true. Think, for example, of a project manager who excellently distributes budgets for his or her projects, but simply cannot understand the problems faced by the customer.

 

Do we evaluate degrees unfairly?

Mark Cuban, an American self-made billionaire in the software industry, put it in a nutshell in 2017: „I will make a prediction. In ten years‘ time, a humanities degree in philosophy will be worth more than a degree in traditional programming.” According to Cuban, machines will be able to calculate and program for us, and so he predicts that „knowing how to critically think and assess them from a global perspective, I think, is going to be more valuable than what we see as exciting careers today which might be programming or CPA or those types of things.“ [3]

The question now is how we deal with these findings in terms of education. What do we really have to teach young people for them to be successful and happy in the world of 2030? If you think that the technology daddies of this world are primarily committed to the development of technological skills, then that’s probably not the case. In the Gates family, for example, time at the computer can only be spent in the kitchen and there are no smartphones at all. To Mark Zuckerberg it is furthermore important that his children spend more time with reading and being outdoors. [4] Similarly, Jack Ma, founder of the Alibaba Group, remarked in a speech: „I told my son: ‘you don’t need to be in the top three in your class, being in the middle is fine, as long as your grades aren’t too bad. Only this kind of person [a middle-of-the-road student] has enough free time to learn other skills.’ I think if China’s economy wants to develop it needs a lot of SMEs and individually-run companies and that requires a lot of entrepreneurs with values and drive“. [5]

These words could be a description of Steve Jobs‘ life. There are very similar stories about his behavior as a father. Did the great technology entrepreneurs know that their social skills have played and continue to play a decisive role in their road to success? Not least Jobs was always said to be lacking in this area, but various psychologic analyses say that the man simply knew exactly when he wanted to use emotional intelligence and when less so. After all, he had many employees who transformed Apple because of him and with him into his own start-up – thus, secretly he seemed to be very much able to motivate and inspire them. [6]

 

Also, soft skills are crucial for a good match

Well-developed soft skills help in every job field and should not be underestimated even if we find ourselves in a technologically sensitive time. We can be sure that social and emotional intelligence will continue to be crucial for successful employment beyond 2030. At JANZZ, we know how important soft skills are for a good matching of human and job, as it is exactly these skills that determine whether the applicant really enriches the team and the company. Our special matching algorithms take into account not only job titles and training, but also many small details. Details such as soft skills, which ultimately lead to good employment. By doing this, we can guarantee an approach to the perfect match that is based on the latest findings regarding the idea of what makes the best employees. We will gladly provide you with more information about the best possible matching algorithms and advise you on your way to good matching.

Write now to sales@janzz.technology

 

 

[1] Strauss, Valerie. 2017. The surprising thing Google learned about its employees — and what it means for today’s students. URL: https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/answer-sheet/wp/2017/12/20/the-surprising-thing-google-learned-about-its-employees-and-what-it-means-for-todays-students/?noredirect=on&utm_term=.d4cfd1f9cd76 [2018.09.15].

[2] Deloitte AG (Hrsg.). 2017. Welche Schlüsselkompetenzen braucht es im digitalen Zeitalter? Auswirkungen der Automatisierung auf die Mitarbeiter, die Unternehmen und das Bildungssystem. URL: https://digital.swiss/assets/dateien/ch-de-innovation-automation-competencies.pdf [2018.09.15].

[3] Watson, Christine. 2018. RecTech is creating more – not less – need for the human touch. URL:  https://www.daxtra.com/2018/08/03/rectech-creating-more-need-for-human-touch/ [2018.09.15].

[4] Johnson, Alice. April, 7th, 2018. Viewpoint: Tech billionaire parenting. In: The Times. New York City.

[5] Custer, C. 2015. Jack Ma: ‘What I told my son about education’. URL: https://www.techinasia.com/jack-ma-what-told-son-education [2018.09.15].

[6] Bariso, Justin. 2018. Was Steve Jobs Emotionally Intelligent? The Answer May Surprise You.  In: Inc. URL: https://www.inc.com/justin-bariso/was-steve-jobs-emotionally-intelligent-answer-may-surprise-you.html [2018.09.15].

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.