让女性具有计算能力:为什么公共就业服务机构应该说服女性学习 STEM 科目

尽管做出了许多努力,但年轻女性在科学、技术、工程和数学 (STEM) 方面仍然处于“代表性不足”的地位。研究表明,让个人和整个国家重视 STEM 可以带来许多优势。因此,公共就业服务机构应该有效地加强 STEM 领域。具体有以下几个原因:

许多拥有 STEM 学位的员工薪水更高。美国劳工统计局强调,在 100 个 STEM 职业中,有 93 个职业的工资超过美国平均水平。与此同时,STEM 毕业生的平均收入是非 STEM 毕业生的两倍。如果他们从事 STEM 领域以外的职业,STEM 毕业生的平均收入也会更高。其他国家的统计数据也证实了这些工资预测。最后但并非最不重要的一点是,STEM 员工失业的可能性要低得多。例如,STEM 员工的失业率整体较低,在美国仅为非 STEM 员工的一半左右。

随着技术的发展,这个领域需要越来越多的专家,这并非什么秘密。例如,最近的头条新闻说,仅在德国,就缺少 100,000 名工程师,其中大多数是电气工程师。另外,数学家在各个领域的应用也越来越多。无论是生产计划、保险福利、工资还是您最喜欢的午餐 — 一切都需要计算。例如,最近有人计算出,人类可能会陷入黑洞。

女性在科学、数学和计算专业的所有大学毕业生中所占的比例 (%),2014 年或最近一年。来源:OECD(2017 年)。《追求性别平等—一场艰苦的斗争》,图 1.1 B。

为了满足这一需求,需要大量的 STEM 毕业生,但学生往往不敢学习 STEM 科目,特别是女性。研究表明,女孩在数学上的表现一般不会比男孩更差,但她们在更多时候却害怕科学科目,她们预测自己的表现会更差。

女孩如何克服对数学的恐惧?如何加强她们的自信?OECD 的建议是从早期阶段开始,因为确定职业道路的决定通常是在 15 岁时做出的。例如,STEM 暑期学校应该接受更多女生,减轻她们的恐惧并突出她们的优势。现在,在 15 岁的男孩中,想要成为工程师、科学家或建筑师的人数比例是相同年龄女孩的两倍。与此同时,只有不到百分之一的女孩想成为 IT 专家。

公共就业服务机构应该应对这一趋势,通过投资来改变女性的未来及其国家的未来。数字化需要许多受过良好教育的 STEM 员工,而这也可以更好地避免公民失业,并且可以确保良好的生活水平。我们非常乐意通过 info@janzz.technology 为您提供更多信息

 

0 回复

发表评论

有兴趣加入讨论 ?
请随意发表言论 !

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

Let the women calculate: Why Public Employment Services should convince women of STEM subjects

Despite many efforts, young women are still under-represented in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM). Studies show that many advantages can be achieved by completing a STEM degree, both for individuals and for entire countries. Public Employment Services should therefore effectively strengthen the STEM sector. There are various reasons why:

Many employees with a STEM degree earn higher salaries. The US Bureau of Labor Statistics emphasizes that 93 out of 100 STEM occupations have wages above the US average. At the same time, the average income of graduates in STEM occupations was twice as high as the one of non-STEM graduates. STEM graduates also earned more on average if they worked in a profession that was not in the STEM sector. Statistics from other countries confirm these wage forecasts. Last but not least, the probability of becoming unemployed is much lower with a STEM degree. For example, the unemployment rate among STEM employees is overall lower, and in the United States only about half as high as among non-STEM employees.

It is no secret that an increasing number of specialists are being needed in this sector, if only because of the technological developments. For example, headlines recently stated that only in Germany there is a shortage of 100,000 engineers, most of them electrical engineers. In addition, mathematicians are being used more and more in every field. Whether it’s production planning, insurance benefits, salaries or your favorite lunch – they calculate basically everything. For example, it was recently calculated that people may survive a fall into a black hole.

Female share (%) of all tertiary graduates in science, mathematics and computing, 2014 or latest available year. Source: OECD (2017). The Pursuit of Gender Equality: An Uphill Battle, Fig. 1.1 B.

In order to meet this need, a great number of STEM graduates are needed but particularly women often do not dare to study a STEM subject. Studies have shown that girls do not generally perform worse in mathematics than boys but they are more often afraid of scientific subjects and predict themselves to perform worse.

How can girls overcome their fears of mathematics? How can their self-confidence be strengthened? The OECD recommends to start at an early stage, as it has been identified that decisions on the career path are usually taken at the age of 15. For example, STEM summer schools should accept a larger number of girls to alleviate their fears and highlight their strengths. It is currently twice as likely that a 15-year-old boy would like to work as an engineer, scientist or architect as a girl of that age. At the same time, less than one percent of girls want to become IT specialists.

Public Employment Services should combat this trend and invest in the future of their women and thus also of their countries. The digitalization requires many well-educated STEM employees, while at the same time citizens can be better protected from unemployment and a good standard of living can be ensured. We are glad to provide further hints at info@janzz.technology

 

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.